The Next Generation Society of the ACLU is a vibrant and diverse membership group for activists, artists, emerging leaders, and engaged community members committed to supporting the essential work of the ACLU and safeguarding civil liberties for future generations.

Founded in Chicago in 2015, the Next Generation Society of the ACLU focuses on engaging the “next generation” of ACLU supporters. ACLU Next Gen members infuse the work of the ACLU with new energy, bring diverse professional and social networks into the ACLU community, and most importantly, are passionate about protecting and expanding civil liberties for all people.

Through educational panels, fundraisers, book clubs, happy hours, volunteer opportunities, and celebrity chef dinners ACLU Next Generation Society members gather and work together to learn about, support, and advance the important work of the ACLU. Members also get opportunities to use their expertise and resources to work directly with ACLU staff on important initiatives. In the past, members have served as cooperating pro bono attorneys and issue experts, helped with design and video projects, and have facilitated partnerships with community organizations.

The ACLU asks Next Generation Society members to make a minimum annual contribution of $125 (fully tax-deductible), all of which goes towards funding the ACLU’s work on reproductive freedom, voting, immigration, police reform, privacy, First Amendment issues, and more. Thanks to the commitment of its members, the Next Generation Society fully funds a staff position each year - the Next Generation Society Staff Attorney, which was named in 2021. This named position honors the Society’s dedication to the ACLU.

At a time when we are facing unprecedented challenges to our rights across the board, we must work together and support the ACLU’s extensive efforts to fight for change. We hope you will join the Next Generation Society of ACLU of Illinois today!

Questions? Please contact us at The Next Generation Society of the ACLU is open to all who are passionate about defending our civil liberties and preserving our democracy. If the cost of $125 is a barrier to you, please reach out about a sponsored membership.

Executive Board

Nida Shakir Ghaffar - Attorney, Husch Blackwell LLP

Ashley Hurley - Legal Administrative Assistant, Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP
Co-Vice President

Aaron Salamonson - Strategy Developer, Proprietary Trading Firm
Co-Vice President

Matea Varvodic - Senior Director of External Affairs, OneGoal

Zee Alsayag - Senior Solution Engineer, ForgeRock
Technology Officer

Nidhi Narielwala - Associate, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP
Technology Officer

Mike Bittner - Senior Content Associate, ZS
Events Co-Chair

Deena Prescavage - Development Manager, Habitat for Humanity Chicago
Events Co-Chair

Carter Harms - Legislative Associate for the Office of Governor JB Pritzker
Membership Chair

Paul Jones - Staff Attorney, Illinois Justice Project
Community Liaison

Markena Peavy - Senior Counsel, BMO Financial Group 
Community Liaison


Ari Afsar - Actor and Performer, Former Cast Member of Hamilton Chicago
Amelia Bailey - Partner at Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Laura Bohorquez - Health Justice Manager, Southwest Suburban Immigrant Project
Adam Bottner - Director of Legal Solutions, Epiq 
Zack Brown - Supervisory Financial Analyst, U.S. Department of the Treasury 
Kelly Cervantes - Nonprofit Consultant
Sarah Chowdhury - Legal Counsel, Illinois State Comptroller 
Sarah Futernick - Associate Attorney, Jenner and Block LLP
Huge Galdones - Owner, Galdones Photography
Daniel Goff - Head of Policy, Kodiak Robotics
Laura Haning - Self-employed/Investor
Katie Jackson - Communications and Outreach Coordinator, Greater Chicago Legal Clinic
Jesse Johnson - Volunteer Engagement Coordinator, American Immigration Council
Scarleth Lever - Senior Director Equity, Diversity & Inclusion at King County Housing Authority
Eli Litoff - Partner, Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP
Jaylin McClinton - 3L at Chicago-Kent, 3L Law Clerk at DiCello Levitt Gutzler
Maggie Michelson - Pediatric Neurologist, Northshore University Health System
Robert Middleton - Associate, ArentFox Schiff
Alexandra Newman - Associate Counsel, Grant Thornton LLP
Trevor Rogers - Assistant State’s Attorney, State’s Attorney’s Office
Sam Rose - Litigation Associate, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Greg Schweizer - Litigation Associate , Eimer Stahl
Kyle Shires - Partner, Croke Fairchild Morgan & Beres
Conrad Shreiner - Business Staff Consultant, EY
Ellen Toobin - Management Consultant, Slalom
Matea Varvodic - Senior Director of External Affairs, OneGoal
Jason Vincent - Chef, Giant Restaurant
Miriam Wayne - Associate, Jenner & Block LLP
Rebecca Weissman - Sales and Marketing Attorney, Ford Motor Co.
Daniel Weyl - Principal and Co-Founder, Four Corners Global Consulting Group, LLC 
Dylan Yurgionas - Software Engineer, Google