The Next Generation Society is a membership group for emerging leaders and professionals who are committed to supporting the work of the ACLU.

Members of The ACLU Next Generation Society bring an infusion of energy to the organization, different professional and social networks, and most importantly, their passion for protecting civil liberties for the coming generations.

Members make a minimum annual commitment of $125, which helps fund our cutting edge work to end mass incarceration, legalize marijuana, defend reproductive freedom, protect privacy in the digital age, and more.

As a member, you gain access to:

  • dynamic and engaging events
  • insider communication about the ACLU of Illinois’ work
  • discounted tickets to social events
  • national ACLU membership

Our Next Generation members demonstrate their commitment to the enduring values embodied in the Constitution and civil rights laws through their support of The Roger Baldwin Foundation of the ACLU, the fundraising arm of the ACLU of Illinois.

Join The Next Generation Society of ACLU of Illinois today!

For more information about the Next Generation Society or the Next Generation Board, please contact Emmalee Scott at, or 312-201-9740 x317.

Executive Committee

Nida Shakir Ghaffar - Attorney, Husch Blackwell LLP

Robert Middleton - Associate, Schiff Hardin LLP
Vice President

Aaron Barlow - Senior Software Engineer, PhenixP2P Inc.

Victoria Pool - Partner, Schiff Hardin
Events Co-Chair

Zack Brown - Principal, Millman, Inc.
Events Co-Chair

Laurence Tooth - Associate, Litchfield Cavo
Membership Co-Chair

Carter Harms - Director of Legislative Affairs, Illinois Department of Human Rights
Organizational Liaison

Daniel Weyl - Regional Grants Officer, The Rotary Foundation
Organizational Liaison

Amelia Chen - Business Development Manager, Public Good Software
Technology Officer


Ari Afsar - Former Cast Member, Hamilton Chicago
Adam Bottner - Director of Legal Solutions, Epiq
Kelly Cervantes - Nonprofit Consultant
Michelle Engleman - Associate Director of Major Gifts, Northwestern University
Huge Galdones - Owner, Galdones Photography
Daniel Goff - Senior Consultant, Tusk Strategies
Laura Haning - Director, Practice Development, H5
Peter Hanna - Senior Counsel, Abbott Labs
Tiffany Harper - Associate Counsel-Manager, Grant Thorton
Barry Horwitz - Shareholder, Greenberg, Traurig LLP
Roxana Kayvani - Director of Sales at Food Evolution and Founder and Owner of Roxana's Kitchen
Louis Klapp - Associate, Quarles & Brady LLP
Scott Lerner- Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Eli Litoff- Associate, Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP
Maggie Michelson - Phyisican, Northshore Health System
Alex Moss - Engineer, Google
Elisa Olivieri - Associate, Cornerstone Research
Markena Peavy - VP Compliance Advisor, MB Financial Bank
Isaac Rabicoff - Principal Attorney, Rabicoff Law LLC
Max Rothstein - Economic Analyst, M1 Finance
Lisa Schwartz - Associate, Sidley Austin LLP
Mukul Sharma - Associate - Investment, Equitrust Life Insurance Company
Linda Shi - Associate, Mayer Brown LLP
Kyle Shires - Associate, Sidley Austin LLP
Kevin Conroy Smith - Co-Founder, The Number Project
Claire Swisher
Ellen Toobin - Senior Associate, Digitas LBI
Jason Vincent - Chef, Giant Restaurant
Kevin Waklatsi - Associate, Latham & Watkins LLP
Sarah Weiss - Partner at Jenner & Block LLP




Stay informed

ACLU of Illinois is part of a network of affiliates

Learn more about ACLU National