We acknowledge that the ACLU of Illinois exists on the traditional, ancestral, unceded homelands of the people of the Peoria, Kaskaskia, Piankashaw, Wea, Miami, Mascoutin, Odawa, Sauk, Mesquaki, Kickapoo, Potawatomi, Ojibwe, and Chickasaw Nations.

We recognize them, the legacy of violence, settlement, and displacement these people suffered and survived. And, we recognize the importance of reverting this common history, of which we are all a part, by supporting Indigenous communities’ continued struggles for respect, self-determination and sovereignty and to right the historic wrongs of colonialism and state violence.

Find out whose land you're on: Native-Land.ca